Facebook won’t change privacy settings post your death

Mega social networking site Facebook won’t change the privacy settings post your death. When a Facebook user passes away, the mourners can request Facebook for memorializing the account of that person.

But once an account is memorialized, only the friends of that deceased person can have visual access to it. However, in one of the latest developments with the restrictions, Facebook has said that there won’t be any limit for viewing the account in question.

This is an excerpt from the official post that Facebook made on their blog: “Starting today, we will maintain the visibility of a person’s content as-is. This will allow people to see memorialized profiles in a manner consistent with the deceased person’s expectations of privacy. We are respecting the choices a person made in life”.

Facebook has also permitted the Look Back creation of the videos for such accounts. The feature was in the news after the son of John Berlin passed away and he requested the social networking site for his Look Back video.

John Berlin’s son, Jesse, left the world in the year 2012 and that is when his father asked Facebook for the creation of the video. That is when Facebook said that they hadn’t videos for any memorialized accounts.

Here is another excerpt of Facebook’s blog post:

Today, we’re also glad to begin offering a way for anyone who has suffered the loss of a loved one to see that person’s “Look Back” video. In recognition of our ten-year anniversary, a group of our engineers created personal movies for people using some of the posts and photos they had shared over the years.

Post Comment

CommentLuv badge